End of Summer soundtrack available on December 4

17e1649a-5aac-4ef1-9d59-84db7d7d52e8 (Sonic Pieces – December 4) Jóhann’s first short film as director, ‘End of Summer’ is a hypnotic and slow-burning journey through the austere landscapes of the island of South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula. Shot on black and white super 8 film and accompanied by rich and detailed field recordings of the from the voyage, this footage makes a perfect foundation for Jóhann’s musical compositions, performed together with fellow musicians and friends Hildur Guðnadóttir and Robert A. A. Lowe.
LP edition features the soundtrack as well as the film’s sound design on the B-Side, exclusively on vinyl; DVD + CD package features the film and accompanying soundtrack.
Trailer: https://vimeo.com/145497571

The Theory of Everything : Original Motion Picture Soundtrack out now on Back Lot Music/Universal

TTOE CD CoverJóhann Jóhannsson has recently completed the score for Focus Features’ newly released film The Theory of Everything. Jóhannsson’s intricate compositions provide a stunning backdrop to the romantic drama about Stephen and Jane Hawking, portrayed in the film by Eddie Redmayne (Les Misérables) and Felicity Jones (The Amazing Spider-Man 2). The film is directed by Academy Award winner James Marsh (Man on Wire).
The Theory of Everything premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival last month to rave reviews, and was released in select cities beginning November 7th and in more cities throughout November.
Theory of Everything: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack was released on Tuesday, November 4th by Back Lot Music/Universal Pictures on digital and cd formats, with a vinyl edition coming out in the beginning of December and available for pre-order now. The film is out January 2nd 2015 in the UK, with the worldwide release of the soundtrack on December 16th.

Sicario Soundtrack App Now Available in iTunes


Experience what critics describe as “one of the best films of the year, period!” with the official Sicario soundtrack app. The app is a musical journey where you can view the film’s visuals and trailer footage, read Director Denis Villeneuve and Jóhann’s thoughts about the music and watch behind-the-scenes footage of the recording sessions, all while listening to an early release of 4 tracks from the film.


Download the app here and immerse yourself in Jóhann Jóhannsson’s menacing, brutal, poignant and melancholic score.

Lionsgate announces release date for Sicario.

sicariofilm Lionsgate has announced the release date for ‘Sicario’, the newest film scored by Jóhann Jóhannsson. A limited release will take place on September 18, 2015 followed by a wide release on September 25.
‘Sicario’ stars Emily Blunt, Benicio Del Toro, Josh Brolin and Jon Bernthal and is Jóhann´s second collaboration with director Denis Villeneuve (‘Prisoners’). Read more on Variety.

Jóhann Jóhannsson wins Golden Globe Award and is nominated for an Academy Award, BAFTA Award, and Critics’ Choice Movie Award

Following critical acclaim for ‘The Theory Of Everything – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’, praise for Jóhann Jóhannsson’s work continues with a Golden Globe win for Best Original Score, plus Academy Award (Oscar), BAFTA Award, and Critics’ Choice Movie Award nominations for his score to the Best Picture Oscar nominated film.
“I’m deeply honored to be nominated for composing this score. Filmmaking is a collaborative medium, and I was lucky to work with artists of amazing calibre on The Theory Of Everything: the actors, the screenwriter, and the director, James Marsh – who has my gratitude for inviting me to be a part of his team, and for being a brilliant, inspiring, and generous collaborator.” – Jóhann Jóhannsson
Jóhann Jóhannsson’s intricate score infuses Best Picture Oscar nominee The Theory Of Everything, which stars Academy Award nominees Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones. The Theory of Everything: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack’ is available now in digital, CD and vinyl formats via Back Lot Music.
Stream the Soundtrack here
Watch ‘The Theory Of Everything’ trailer on YouTube

The Miners’ Hymns to be performed by the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra


We are excited to announce the first performance of The Miners’ Hymns with a full orchestra will take place during Iceland Airwaves Festival in November. The work, a first time collaboration by renowned American filmmaker Bill Morrison and acclaimed Icelandic musician and composer Jóhann Jóhannsson, is an homage in film and music to the coal mining history of North East England.
Using rarely seen archive film footage spanning 100 years, it depicts the ill-fated mining communities, the increasing mechanization of the pits and the extraordinary annual Durham Miners’ Gala. The soundtrack draws on the brass music heritage of the northeast of England, a tradition stretching back almost 200 years and still very much alive today.
Jóhann Jóhannsson has created a brand new orchestration of the piece especially for the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra, which will be conducted by Guðni Franzson.
“A lost industrial past stirs in an unforgettable live concert performance of Jóhann Jóhannsson’s score with Bill Morrison’s film.” ★★★★★ – Fiona Maddocks, Observer
“Elegant, elegiac… enthralling.” — The New York Times

The Theory of Everything


Jóhann has composed the score for the Working Title/Focus Features film The Theory of Everything about the relationship between Stephen Hawking and his wife Jane. The film is directed by James Marsh – known for his documentary films such as the Oscar-winning Man On Wire – and features stars Eddie Redmayne of Les Miserables and Felicity Jones of Amazing Spider Man 2. The film will be released in the USA this November and the rest of the world in December. The score album will be released this autumn through BackLot Records. The world premiere of The Theory of Everything was at Toronto International Film Festival last week. Here are some of the press reactions to the score:


“Jóhann Jóhansson’s score is sublime” – Screen Daily


“The film’s score is so beautifully written it left many around me in tears at the extra emotion it brought.” BBC


Prisoners Soundtrack CD released on Watertower Music

5686129WaterTower Music has announced the release of Jóhann Jóhannsson’s soundtrack to the Alcon Entertainment thriller “Prisoners,” a Warner Bros. Pictures’ release starring Oscar nominees Hugh Jackman (“Les Misérables”) and Jake Gyllenhaal (“Brokeback Mountain”), and directed by Denis Villeneuve. The album will be available at all digital retailers, and a CD will be made available through Amazon.com

A vinyl edition of the album will be available through NTOV/Cobraside in early November.

“Prisoners” topped the US box office in its first weekend and has been acclaimed by critics. The score has received its fair share of plaudits:

Associated Press: “Even the moody music by Icelandic composer Johan Johannsson will make you shiver. Just try getting it out
of your head as you leave the theater.”

Filmmmusicmag: “Prisoners” is certainly one of the more interesting scores to appear since Johnny Greenwood’s brilliantly bizarre “There Will Be Blood,” while doing far less – if that’s even possible – a score that communicates riveting ideas with the most deceptively minimal of efforts – It’s “art” music that just happens to be a film score, and pretty much completely outside of the box in a cool Icelandic way.”